6 week challenge: Hindi

Hi all. I’ve had a bit of an extended absence from blogging lately, but I’ve returned from holidays. I plan on bringing some new insights from my new project – Hindi.

I’ve joined the 6 Week Challenge that started on August 1st. For those who haven’t heard about it, it’s a game we play to keep our motivation up through a little bit of friendly competition. There’s a high score list, and we each tweet the amount of time we’ve spent studying so that we can gain some motivation by seeing what other people are doing.

I don’t have any specific goal with regard to my Hindi skills after these 6 weeks, but rather a numerical goal for my work. I’d like to average 4 hours per day of language study during this 6 week period, and most of that work will be on Hindi. No matter where I end up, it’ll be far from where I am now (which is almost nothing).

Currently I can read and write the Devanagari script sorta ok, and I know a few words of basic vocab. Previously I’d worked through the first few chapters of Hindi ohne Mühe (the German Assimil book for Hindi). Throughout the Challenge, I’ll be working on both Assimil and Teach Yourself Hindi, since they both seem to have plenty of basic content.

At the start I’ll be focusing mostly on vocab, and picking up some of the grammar along the way. I’m trying to find more sources of audio to listen to, but so far I just have one mediocre audiobook and some online radio stations to listen to.

One thing I’ve noticed so far is that it feels a lot more challenging than the other languages I’ve worked on in the past while, except polish. It feels about the same as polish in terms of vocabulary distance; some words are similar or guessable, but most are totally unknown to me.

I have to remind myself that each moment spent on it and each new word learned is just as important as the last, and that there’s no need to think about all the work ahead of me. All I need is consistent work each day on whatever chapter I’m on, and I’ll get there where I get there.

If anyone knows where I can find some Hindi novels, I’d really appreciate it!

5 Responses to 6 week challenge: Hindi

  1. J says:

    All the best of luck to you! I went through my three months of Hindi, although I was very distracted with other goings-on. Lately, though, I’ve made a friend who speaks Urdu, so he’s teaching me the basics of both.

    I have to say, though, I’m jealous you have the spare time to devote four hours a day to language study! Such a luxury!

  2. Teango says:

    शुभ कामनाएँ (good luck) with Hindi mate! It’s a beautiful language on both the eye and ear, and should prove a fascinating new challenge.

    As for books, http://www.hindinovels.net has some contemporary online novels in Hindi and English that might be worth checking out, and just for the heck of it, why not start off the day with a bit of Sherlock Holmes too (http://www.archive.org/details/SherlockHolmesStories-DramatisedInHindi).

    There’s also loads of great Bollywood movies and songs on YouTube, and if you come across it in your travels, I’d recommend “3 Idiots” (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1187043/) for some light-hearted feel-good fun.

  3. San says:

    Here is a Hindi blog link http://sarathi.info/

    Few useful links
    http://www.avashy.com/hindiscripttutor.htm for script and sounds
    http://ncertbooks.prashanthellina.com/ for school textbooks
    http://www.vishvbook.com/premchands-novels.html novels by Premchand

    All the best for your study if you have any queries feel free to ask me.

  4. Wow, good luck with that! I’m currently studying German for 10 minutes a day. :)

  5. kumar says:

    hello !

    good luck with your hindi !
    i am learning hindi too ! i come from south india ,i speak the southern languages .
    i can understand the language since i have watched alot of bollywood movies .but i cannot speak or translate word to word ,
    so its pretty complicated for me .
    i am using http://fsi-language-courses.org/Content.php?page=Hindi
    and
    try http://ispeakhindi.com/ :)

    where did you find hindi ohne muhe ?

    kumar

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

