Kanji without Heisig

A bit of a tangent from the usual german content here. I was just reading a post over at Japanese From Zero where akanpanda asks “does anyone know a *non Heisig* way to learn Kanji? Heisig bores me even when I turn it into a game.” For those who are unfamiliar, the Heisig method of learning kanji is to build up from basic characters to complex ones, so that every complex one consists of pieces that are recognizable characters. You have to follow a certain order so that you always get those basic ones before the advanced ones. Here’s my response:

You probably want to find some way to go hardcore on an SRS because that’s the fastest way to fill your brain with reams of data, but it doesn’t have to be through Heisig. The problem i had with Heisig was learning a bunch of boring characters before the ones that i wanted. Instead of that, you could try adding chars as you encounter them in real life. You may not know the parts of them in an awesome way like in the Heisig method, but it’ll be ok. This way each character will mean something to you, and have value, instead of being force-fed.

What i did was go to the library and get an awesome book that i really wanted to read. A good one for me was a book of short sci-fi stories by famous authors like Ray Bradbury and George R.R. Martin, except translated into chinese (which is what i was learning). Then i’d go through one page, and just write down all the chars that i didn’t know. I’d look up each one, and make up an Anki card for it. Then i’d try to read the page, hopefully remembering some of the chars that i just looked up.

Every day i’d do my Anki reps, and add a new page full of the characters i didn’t know. As each day went on, I’d be able to read more and more of the stories, at least by guessing new words according to the Hanzi (aka Kanji) that i encountered. The benefit of this method was that all the characters i added were really valuable to me. They were helping me read more and more pages of the awesome book, instead of just being random boring characters from some predefined method. This way, i kept my motivation up because i wanted to get through more pages of the book, and each progressive page was getting easier and easier.

An important part of motivation is self-direction. The fastest way to hate something is to have someone else force you to do it, or to be spoon-fed. Pick your own direction, and you’ll be able to do it for longer. Also, mix things up a bunch. Never just use one method, or one book. Every time you sit down to work on your project, have a variety of materials in front of you and choose whichever one catches your eye first. When you start to get bored of it, just drop it and look around. Pick up the next one that catches your eye. If you have enough interesting materials in front of you, you can go all day. I did this by getting real books from the library. Sci-fi, or translated novels like “the godfather” (which was funny to try to read in chinese). It’s also good to get something that’s familiar, maybe like Harry Potter if you’re into that.

Good luck!

3 Responses to Kanji without Heisig

  1. Tyler says:

    This is awesome beyond words. I love this site so much you don’t even know it.

    Now that I think about it, it all makes sense. Every single bit. No more Heisig for me. I’ve failed that twice and each time it’s chewed me up and spit me out.

    My only question: Where did you get these books? It’s amazing to me that you just walked into a library and the books were there, in Chinese. I’m learning Japanese, and I’ll search your blog for more answers, but where were your sources of said materials?

    • doviende says:

      Ya, I’m from Vancouver, which has a huge Chinese-speaking population, and the central library has hundreds and hundreds of Chinese books. There are also plenty of Chinese bookstores around town that have nothing in English. I’m sure there must be some places online that you can order from, though.

      • maugrassia says:

        Ok great! I should definitely come to Vancouver sometime, then.

        I found a Japanese store in the U.S. called Kinokuniya, and everything can be ordered online. I was just hoping it was going to be free, but you know, I don’t care.

        Thanks!

Leave a Reply

