leaving for Germany in 2 days

Hi all. I’ve had a bit of a leave of absence from the blog as I’ve been preparing for my trip. For the last few weeks I’ve been off on a bike tour around southern BC (in western Canada), which was good as a “test ride” to figure out if I have all the equipment I need to ride my bike around Europe this summer. For those interested in details, you can read my trip journal at http://www.crazyguyonabike.com/doc/van2castlegar

Currently I’m just packing up and preparing to leave. I have a 1-year visa for Germany now (obtained through the agreement between Germany and Canada called “Youth Mobility” or “Jugendmobilität”). Normally, a Canadian citizen travelling to Germany only gets 90 days within a period of 180, but I wanted to stay longer.

To get ready, I’ve been listening to a lot of German. While I was riding my bike around all day, I had my headphones on and listened to a few dozen hours of German. It’s come back quite quickly, and I actually feel better able to speak now. Maybe I’m just more confident? Or maybe the time when it will be required of me is much closer and more urgent. Either way, I’m looking forward to arriving there and using it.

My next bike tour will have an accompanying journal at http://www.crazyguyonabike.com/doc/germany2sweden for those who want to follow along (although not much to see yet, since I haven’t started). The first leg of my trip will be from Frankfurt down to Munich to visit a friend, and then onward to Vienna to visit another friend. Next I’ll hop over the river into Slovakia to attend an Esperanto class for the first week of July.

After that, things are a bit open-ended. I’ll ride back through Austria to Germany, and wander my why up through Germany and eventually visit Denmark and Sweden. I plan to stay in Sweden for about a month to practice Swedish, and then in about October I’ll be back in Germany to find a place to stay for the 8 remaining months of my visa. If anyone wants to visit along the way, then let me know and I’ll see if I can ride by your city at some point :)

More details soon, as they happen.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

