Polyphasic day 5: oversleep :(

Well, it happened. I had a nap at 1am, and still felt tired afterwards. When the next nap came around at about 3, I felt exhausted and somehow gave up on staying awake. It felt too good to just give in to the wonderful blissful sleep that tempted me. I ended up sleeping for a good 8 hours.

It’s very strange trying to get accustomed to the idea that all sleep could only be in 20 minute batches. In that part of the difficult adjustment period when you feel like a zombie, it’s very hard to resist, especially since the easiest thing to do is to do nothing. If you just lay there and sleep, your problems will be solved. Unfortunately it also means your goals will not be achieved.

I’m not ready to give up yet, however. I’m not sure if I should attempt to continue with SPAMAYL, or maybe try the Everyman 3 schedule instead (3hrs “core”, plus 3 20 minute naps throughout the day). It sounds like E3 takes longer to fully adjust to, but has a higher success rate, so maybe I’ll switch over to that. I’ll consider it for today, and pick something soon.

Edit: We’re going to try E3 with core nap from 1am – 4am, then naps at 9am, 2:30pm, 8pm. Trying an irregular all-nap approach initially might have helped us with the ability to nap and dream, but I think now we need some regularity.

7 Responses to Polyphasic day 5: oversleep :(

  1. Tanja says:

    ah well, that happens. please continue (at least with another method). it’s a way too interesting project.
    how does Chani do?

  2. Chani says:

    yeah… sleep is weird. I half-knew that it was bad that pete was going back to sleep, but couldn’t seem to remember *why*, so I just kinda went along with it. then a few alarms later I remembered, but told myself it was too late by then🙂

    besides, my sinuses are clearly fighting a virus now.. so.. maybe it’s best to give them some rest.:/

  3. shaun says:

    Have you read this?
    http://www.supermemo.com/articles/polyphasic.htm

    It doesn’t look like it’s a very healthy thing to do to yourself, despite how appealing it looks. I am looking forward to see how it affects your language learning, and good luck with the Dutch. I am also doing the challenge and just got to lesson 21 of Assimil Dutch.

    • doviende says:

      Yes, and I think the supermemo guy is out to lunch on this one. He says stuff like “Women don’t do this”, except the inventor of the freaking method is a woman (and she literally wrote the book on it). He also thinks that the end result is not possible, despite many people succeeding (including the somewhat-famous Steve Pavlina).

      • Bluey says:

        Yes, and he also thinks that a fully adapted polyphasic sleeper is always sleep deprived. He then denies that there is an adaptation phase – ie. the person is always as sleep deprived as they are at the beginning. The guy is a total idiot. He’s not a scientist.

  4. morningworm says:

    i can’t believe you guys are trying this! can’t imagine how tough it must be. but i agree, the E3 sounds like a good way to ease into it and let your body adjust. anyway, something that might help you out in this project: morning worm app

    it’s an alarm app for iPhone. you need to solve a puzzle to turn it off, so it should help give your brain a little jump-start after those naps. good luck😀

  5. Linda Namei says:

    I have been reading with so much intrest. I’m just now trying to look up more on the process. I would love to try this, but with my small son I dont know if I could do it, he sleeps often as well so we could nap together. I think I will try the four hours of main sleep since I usually sleep that long anyway, and then I can nap before he gets up and then after his playschool we can nap together, its the late afternoon, I will have to try sneak in. Awesome experiment!

Leave a Reply

