bouncing to japanese

As sometimes happens when one is fascinated with so many topics, I have accidentally bounced over to learning Japanese. I’m still reviewing my Hindi books from time to time, but with my girlfriend expressing her interest in learning Japanese, it’s hard for me to resist doing it too. I really love working on a project with someone else rather than just by myself.

So far I’ve become addicted to Slime Forest Adventure for learning the writing system. It’s a simple RPG-style game (for windows, mac, and linux) that teaches katakana, hiragana, and kanji. I’m trying to learn as many kanji as I can in as short a time as I can, so that I can incorporate that knowledge into the rest of my vocab study.

Much of my study time will be through consumption of media. We’re re-watching a long anime series, which has English subtitles. Sometimes it’s really tough to ignore the English, but I’m sort of getting into the habit of quickly reading the English and then concentrating hard on listening to the corresponding Japanese sentence.

To assist with this, I’ve been reading Tae Kim’s Japanese Grammar Guide in order to just see what sorts of structures exist in Japanese. I’m not trying to memorize any tables of conjugations; I just want to get a taste for what’s there. After reading a section of examples, then I go watch another anime episode and try to listen for that grammar concept to come up in speech. This allows me to sort of fit together more pieces as I listen to them.

Once I finish going through the ~2000 standard kanji, and learn some of the basic vocab, I’m eager to start on some actual reading. I’m not sure what I’ll use for this, but good old Harry Potter might be an option.

6 Responses to bouncing to japanese

  1. Keith says:

    Good luck.
    I’m going to have learned all the 2000~ standard Kanji too, one of these days.

  2. Tanja says:

    Hey, klasse! Ich interessiere mich neuerdings auch für japanisch! :)
    Das Spiel ist ganz cool, ich habe dem Macher gleich mal geschrieben. Die Benutzerfreundlichkeit lässt manchmal echt zu wünschen übrig.
    Aber irgendwie finde ich es nicht besonders optimal, Japanisch über den “Umweg” Englisch zu lernen. Ich denke nicht, dass ich mir die englische Version kaufen werde.
    Mal schauen was Darrell antwortet :)

    • doviende says:

      Ich sehe viele Karten in Anki unter “japanisch”, die auf Deutsch geschrieben sind. Vielleicht nicht so interessant wie Slime Forest, aber nützlich.

      • Tanja says:

        ja das stimmt natürlich! es sind viele deutsch-japanische Lehrmaterialien zu finden. Trotzdem wäre es sehr cool, ein Spiel auf deutsch nutzen zu können. :)

  3. Price says:

    Kannst du mir sagen, wie deine Japanisch Karten für das Vokabular lernen aussehen? Machst du einfach Karten mit Beispielsätzen in der Fragesektion der Karte und lässt die Antwort leer und versuchst dann, den Text bei jedem Review zu verstehen?

    Ich frage, weil ich momentan eine riesige Menge an englischen Wörtern lernen muss und deine Vorgehensweise mich sehr interessiert!

    Danke für die Antwort.

  4. Fasulye says:

    Hi Doviende,

    I decided to subscribe to your blog, because I find your language learning activities very interesting. And you have been studying Esperanto and Dutch, two languages I like very much.

    Mijn eigen blog is in het Nederlands geschreven, als je daar eens wilt kijken:

    http://fasulyespolyglotblog.blogspot.com

    Hartelijke groeten,

    Fasulye

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

