6WC: Spanish!

I’ve decided to join in on a project announced on HTLAL, which is a “6 week challenge” (6WC) in Spanish. Participants are expected to be at a beginner level in Spanish, and we see how much we can accomplish in 6 concentrated weeks, starting on May 1. My previous experience in Spanish consists of one university course that I took in 2002 or so, so I’ve previously studied a bunch of the grammar and basic vocab, but I have a lot of trouble reading real things, and I can’t speak it or understand it when spoken.

The idea of the 6WC is to work hard for 6 weeks to achieve whatever you can. In many cases, the same results can be achieved by lowering your allowed time period, creating some urgency for yourself. We hope to work harder than we normally would, due to this. We’ll also be able to easily sense the “end” of that period (although many of us may continue working afterwards anyway). Having the end in sight can help eliminate that sense of floating where you wonder what you’re doing and for how long.

With a short time limit like this, we also tend to get a lot of people who will join the challenge, since they can afford to spend that short period of time working with us. We plan to use a twitter bot to keep track of our work and create a “high score” sheet for amount of work, which will hopefully offer another type of motivation. We’ll also be making comments about what types of things we’re doing as we study, which will offer inspiration and motivation too.

I think I have some easy stuff in mind to start on, but I’m looking for further suggestions of Spanish authors to read. I’d like to try some poetry by Neruda and Lorca, since I’ve heard there are some parallel versions around, but some interesting novels would be good too.

Currently I’m still in Berlin, staying with some friends. My flight back to Canada is in a few days, and then I have a week to relax until the 6WC starts 🙂

7 Responses to 6WC: Spanish!

  1. Vera Surkova says:

    Did you give up on Polish?

  2. doviende says:

    No, it’s still on the list for the year, but it’s convenient to work on Spanish for a little bit while several of my friends are doing the same.

  3. Tanja says:

    Wow, cool, i’m tempted to join! i started a university course and later on a course at the VHS. Harry Potter #1 is sitting here somewhere waiting for me. Never left a low beginner’s level, forgetting everything between and after the courses.

  4. Teango says:

    I hope you have lots of fun with this one…it’s a wonderful vibrant language and there are stacks of resources out there too! I’d like to give the 6 week challenge a go myself, but I tried something similar last year, and Russian is jealous mistress right now. 😉

    The narrator for the first “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone” is superb – a great voice to accompany a nicely matching translation. However, if you’d like to try out something without too many wands and chocolate frogs, Library Thing is always a good place to start in the search for recommendations.

    ¡Buena suerte!

  5. […] of my favorite language bloggers is doing a six-week challenge for learning Spanish. It’s described on this forum and […]

  6. Andrew says:

    Oh that’s awesome, you’re learning my favorite language! 😀

    I can’t wait to see this, keep us updated.

    Cheers,
    Andrew

  7. Jana says:

    I’m actually in the middle of a personal challenge right now to learn Spanish in three months! I’ve been at it for about a month now… So I’m interested to see how this turns out for you.

Leave a comment